# SolutionSo

# tournament results 27-30 DECEMBER 2011





E ngā mema ō te karapu tenēhi Māori ō Aotearoa, Tena koutou, tena koutou, tena koutou katoa

To our Patron Kiingi Tuheitia, Tainui waka, Kaumatua, Life Members, Committee members, competitors and sponsors, thank you one and all for a successful 85th Maori Tennis Championships.

The tournament powhiri was graced by the presence of Life Member Ruia Morrison MBE and former greats, Joe Malcolm and Ann Tapsell (Malcolm) with AMTA Kaumatua Ta Tamati Reedy leading the whaikorero presentations.

A new Open Women's Doubles Taonga was unveiled in honour of Ruia and Ann. Two Life Members were inducted - David Goldsmith and Charles Peni. Their Life Member badges were presented by Tā Tamati Reedy and Joe Malcolm respectively.

Kyle Butters created history, becoming the youngest ever Men's Open Singles winner at 14 years of age.

Other notable performances include: New mum and Open Women's Singles Champion, Tracey O'Connor; Arapeta Collier-Waiomio, Te Kani Williams, Teagan Ross, Paris Butters, Brad Currie, Paige Hourigan, and the daughters of former Crusader, Tabai Matson – Michal and Holly.

Special thanks must go to those who assisted with the running of the tournament, Harry Tawhai, Geoff and Leona Davis-Kaye, David Brake, Celia Railey, Desrae Garratt (and her mokopuna) Tiwana Tibble,Tia Ormsby van Selm, Te Mana Rollo, Adam and Pania Whauwhau

The social evening was a huge success, highlighted by Te Roopu Mangakotukutuku (Te Mana Rollo) and music supremo Adam Whauwhau with Whare Wharepapa demonstrating his haka skills.

A positive AGM with some tournament entry changes and additions to our committee. We welcome on board, new members, Fiona Wikaira and Maria Clarken. Already looking forward to some positive changes in tournament running!

We further extend our sincere thanks to our Kaumatua Tā Tamati Muturangi me Kahurangi Tilly Te Koingo Reedy for their generous contribution towards Nga Purapura Trust.

mt P

### 2011 AMTA Championships, Waikato Tennis Centre, Hamilton, 27-29 December.

Event	Winner/s	Runner/s Up	Results
10 Boys Singles	Lachlan Fraser	Jude Hiri	
10 Girls Singles	Maimiti Takitimu	Paris Maxwell	R/R
10/12 Mixed Doubles	Koare Hudson & Gabrielle Hiri	Aahaki Whauwhau & Holly Matson	R/R
	2	2	2
12 Boys Singles	Raniera Maxwell	Hone Collier- Waiomio	6/4 7/5
12 Boys Doubles	Hone Collier-Waiomio & Jackson Currie	Wipere Takitimu & Te Ahikaiata McCausland-D	R/R
12 Girls Singles	Holly Matson	Gabrielle Hiri	
12 Girls Doubles	Ariana Albert & Gabrielle Hiri	Aaimiti Takitimu & Arapera Tapiata	7/5 6/3
12 Mixed Doubles	Koare Hudson & Gabrielle Hiri	2	2
	2	2	2
14 Boys Singles	Brad Currie	Te Kani Williams	6/3 3/6 6/1
14 Girls Singles	/Michal Matson	7 Tiana Windbuchler	6/1 6/2
14 Girls Doubles	/Michal Matson & Holly Matson	Paris Butters & Libby Wichman	∕R/R
14 Mixed Doubles	Ricky Collier-Waiomio & Michal Matson	Hone Collier-Waiomio & Paris Butters	R/R
	2	2	2
16 Boys Singles	Brad Currie	7 Te Kani Williams	6/3 3/6 6/1
16 Boys Doubles	Brad Currie & Manaia Hiha	Tipene Hansen & Rawiri Poutu-Smith	R/R
	2	2	2
30 Mens Singles	Aaron Rogers	Adam Whauwhau	6/07/6
30/40 Mens Doubles	Peri Woods & Adam Whauwhau	Rees Tapsell & Te Kani Williams	6/1 7/5
30 Mixed Doubles	Adam Whauwhau & Te Mana Rollo	Aerv Tane & Fiona Wikaira	R/R
	2	2	2
40 Mens Singles	Peri Woods	Rees Tapsell	5/7 6/2 6/2
40 Mens Singles Plate	Steve Rickard	Patrick Nihill	9/5
40 Womens Singles	Te Mana Rollo	Fiona Wikaira	6/4 6/3
40 Womens Singles Plate	Alaine Hohepa	Jackie Albert	29/8
40 Womens Doubles	Leona Davis-Kaye & Tia Van Selm	Te Mana Rollo & Hayley Webber	6/0 6/4
40 Mixed Doubles	Leona Davis-Kaye & Rees Tapsell	Cindy Trammel & Peri Woods	9/4
	2	2	2
50 Mens Singles	Aark Hansen	Jeremy Wichman	7/5 6/2
50 Mens Singles Plate	Wati Waiomio	Arthur Bauld	<i>2</i> 9/8
50 Mens Doubles	Aark Hansen & Jeremy Wichman	Edgar Wallace & Harry Tawhai	R/R
50 Womens Singles	Wendy Hiha	Christine Brake	6/4 6/2
50 Mixed Doubles	Dick Garratt & Desrae Garratt	Dave Brake & Christine Brake	R/R
	2	2	2
60 Mens Singles	Whare Wharepapa	Richard Collier	R/R
60 Mens Doubles	Charles Peni & Fred Kleve	Richard Collier & Whare Wharepapa	R/R
60 Womens Singles	Aary Duraham	Desrae Garratt	R/R
	2	2	
70 Mens Singles	David Goldsmith	ZDinny Mohi	211/3
70 Mens Doubles	David Goldsmith & Dinny Mohi	Sam Pehi & Peter Thomas	211/3
	2	2	
Championship	2	2	<u> </u>
Mens Singles	Kyle Butters	Eru Lyndon	6/3 6/2
Mens Singles Plate	Sam Butters	Alichael Topp	4/6 7/5 7/6
Mens Doubles	Arapeta Collier-Waiomio	Eru Lyndon & Mataroria Lyndon	6/7 6/1 (10/1)
Womens Singles	Tracey O'Connor	Luci Barlow	6/1 6/0
Womens Singles Plate	Teagan Ross	Aliya Edwards	29/5
Womens Doubles	Tracey O'Connor & Luci Barlow	Paige Hourigan & Kataraina Hunia	6/3 6/3
Mixed Doubles	Kyle Butters & Paige Hourigan	Aaui Hudson & Luci Barlow	7/5 6/2

### AMTA DIRECTORY 2011/2012

### **Patron – Kairangi** Kiingi Tuheitia

**Kaumātua** Ta Tamati Muturangi Reedy Kahurangi Te Koingo Tilly Reedy

**President – Tumuaki** Richard (Tiki) Garratt

**Secretary – Hēkeretari** Harry Tawhai

**Treasurer - Kaitiaki Moni** Harry Tawhai

**Committee - Komiti** Desrae Garratt, Dr. Rees Tapsell, Fiona Wikaira, Maria Clarken

**Tu Toa – Rangatahi** Dr. Ra and Michelle Durie

**Te Rōpū Pakeke Tēnehi** Administrator – Ann Davis- Maroulis

**Waikato-Tainui komiti** Tia Van-Selm, Te Mana Rollo Adam and Pania Whauwhau Accountant – Kaikaute Wayne Campbell - Accounts Online Ltd

Auditor - Kaitatari Kaute David Crombie – Crombie & Associates

**Solicitor - Rōia** John Burley – Callaghan & Co.

Office - Te Tari 36 Carruth Rd, Papatoetoe 2025 PO Box 23 650, Papatoetoe 2155 Phone 09 278 6591 / Fax 09 278 6582 Mobile 0274 901 237 Email: info@amta.co.nz Web: www.amta.co.nz

### **Current Life Members**

Basil Corbett Richard (Tiki) Garratt David Goldsmith Bob Graham Taini Jamison Ruia Morrison Sam Pehi Charles Peni Celia Railey Ta Tamati Reedy Harry Tawhai Lindsay Wehipeihana





## Ngā mihi tino nui ki a...









